Still Totally a Coincidence

    It’s one of those days I’m working the very late shift, one of those I really wish I wasn’t. Thumping music, having to wear a bunny ear headband which soon will be a full-blown outfit as I was prewarned, and just simply not the best of moods. And I still want to know why the hell he came to ‘fix’ the coffee machine. Pfft, like he has a new, shiny job that is completely legal. Yea, sure. As far as I’m concerned, he shows the Russian stereotype perfectly…well, one of the stereotypes. The illegal one, that is. 

    I sigh as I work my way back to the bar, setting the tray I had been carrying around down under the counter. The coffee machine is mostly for people who work here, but for the people who come during the day but aren’t day drinkers, it’s a nice addition. But why would he…and how would he even… He makes no sense and frustrates me to no end. As it is, he told me a ‘reason’ why he lied about having a girlfriend, but his reason doesn’t explain why he lied to me about it. I don’t see any reason at all why he would, other than to just be an ass. God, I’m an idiot. For so many reasons. I just…

    “Hey.” A voice breaks through my thoughts and I jerk my head up, expecting an impatient customer, but only see a smiling Cam. “Didn’t know you worked here.”

    I blink. Frown. “I…yea. What are you..no, wait, there’s only so many reasons to be here. Want something to drink?,” I ask, straightening up and shaking off my shock. It’s just like it had been at the club, a complete coincidence. A complete, strange, mildly disturbing coincidence. “And sorry I haven’t gotten in touch with you, been busy and haven’t thought about it.”

    He nods, “Ah, yea, but just one of those coffees. Whatever’s easiest to make. And don’t’ worry about not getting in contact, I understand…and ‘sides, am seeing you now, aren’t I?” He beams at me, leaning on the counter and sitting on one of the stools. The other person working behind the bar with me, glances our way briefly, before slipping out form behind the counter to bring some drinks to some of the people sitting in the pit, as it is so lovingly called by anyone who works here.

    “Yea, I guess, but I still feel bad. I’m glad to see you, really, but…things..in the way…” I reply, working on a ‘simple’ coffee, my mind working as well. I don’t know why, but something is going of fin my head that has me worry. But, what is there to worry about? These sorts of things happen, and I am glad to see him. Sort of. If Anis finds out he came here… But I shouldn’t care what he thinks, afterall, he’s got enough company on his own. And, as he said the other day, I’m a ‘good friend’. I’m really starting t hate the word ‘friend’.

    I place the cup infront of him, smiling a bit. “Here you go.”

    He sips it, after blowing on it, then leans in and whispers, “I want to talk to you. Can you come with me?”

    I frown, studying his eyes closely as I shake my head. See his face fall, but some sort of raw determination there. “Can’t. Still working. You came in at the beginning of my shift, I fear. Cam…why don’t’ we meet tomorrow, eh?” I smile apologetically, though soemthign tells me my old friend is…different… An alarm is ringing in my head and it worries me. Why would he be here? This can’t just… My gaze moves to the star pattern under his eyes, before to his eyes again. But he’s still Cam, how could he not be trustworthy?

    He frowns and stands, coming around the counter to take my arm, rather firmly. “Just outside, that’s all, Ry. Come on, you owe me at least this much after blowing me off. It’l only take a second, I promise.” His tone is forceful, demeaning, and I’m suddenly very aware of the fact I do have my gun on me. Just incase. I don’t like this. But I don’t think I should tell him that yet. But I sure as hell shouldn’t go with him. But now I want Anis to be here for some reason. I also would like Cam to let go and be more…like he used to be…

    “Cam. You’re being an ass,” I reply finally, jerking my arm away and frowning at him. He narrows his eyes, blows out a puff of air, and looks around, seeming to contemplate something, before storming off. Part of me is relieved, but yet another part of me wants to go after him, apologize. I don’t like upsetting people I care about, even if they are giving me bad vibes. Damn it. Nothing can ever be safe, can it? But why Cam be acting like this? Why would…what happened? “Fuck,” I murmur, leaning against the counter, my front facing the coffee machine. “Fuck. Things can only get worse now, huh?” I shake my head to clear it as I hear someone call out an order, and quickly I plaster on a smile and get back to work. I’ll figure out what the hell went on with Cameron later…or maybe I’l text him and try to apologize. I don’t know yet. Maybe my worries were unfounded and I I just got a bit paranoid. I’m sure it’s nothing. I’m sure I just…want him to go away because I want Anis to stay near.

    Nothing can ever be simple. I wish things could be simple.

Leave a comment